behind the curtin

personal

hidden-mothers-6 hidden-mothers-5 hidden-mothers-4 hidden-mothers-3 hidden-mothers-2

hidden-mothers-1

hidden-mothers-14 hidden-mothers-13 hidden-mothers-12

hidden-mothers-11

hidden-mothers-9 hidden-mothers-8

They say when you have a baby everything changes, life as you knew it is over.

I didn’t see that change until now. It’s not how your everyday life changes but how your relationships change with everyone you know.

Everyone treats  you, and thinks of you, differently; your husband, family, friends, those with and those without kids.

You’re a mom now. You in the mommy club and now you hang out talking about diaper rash, teething, and naps. “Babies” is a never ending topic.

At the same time you’re off the “I need a talk” list, the “Let’s get a drink” list, and the “What’s my friend doing?” list. Your friends without kids are sure you don’t have time, energy or a sitter, and that all you’re interested in is kids.

Your family, your husband, your friends all they see is your baby; they don’t see you anymore.

And you feel that way about yourself too!

And that’s what’s so hard for me.

I feel like I’m behind this curtain.

I’m always there, but no one sees me.

I know Teo sees me. I’m center of his world. And the way he looks at me melts my heart.

Being a mom is the most beautiful and amazing journey of my life.

I still can’t believe how lucky I am to have him. I can’t imagine my life without him.

I just wish people would remember that I am here.

Source of pictures:

http://ridiculouslyinteresting.com/

Hidden mothers in Victorian portraits

Leave a Reply

